About Us

Our Leadership Team

Main Roads’ Corporate Executive is our peak decision-making body, comprised of our Managing Director and Executive Directors from business units. Its objective is to set clear strategic direction for delivering government priorities and our Aspiration.

Group Shot 1

*Absent: Des Snook

Doug Morgan

Acting Managing Director

BEng(Elect), MBA

Doug has taken on the role of acting Managing Director since January 2021 drawing on his experience having worked in many senior roles throughout his career at Main Roads. Most recently he has led the Planning and Technical Services team and has previously held responsibility for traffic management and heavy vehicle operations. Doug is a member of the Board of the Sustainable Built Environment National Research Centre and serves as a member of the Road Safety Commission.

doug morgan

Des Snook

Executive Director Metropolitan and Southern Regions


Des is responsible for asset management, maintenance and project delivery services for the Metropolitan, South West and Great Southern regions. He also has state-wide responsibility for the delivery of heavy vehicle services, electrical service assets, crisis and incident management, and railway crossing safety. At a national level, he is Western Australia’s Alternate Director on the boards of Austroads and Transport Certification Australia.

des snook

Philip D’Souza

Acting Executive Director Finance and Commercial Services

BCom(Acctg&Fin), GradCert. L&M, CPA

Philip, as Chief Finance Officer, oversees provision of sustainable and innovative financial, investment planning, business and commercial services. He is a member of CPA Australia and the CPA WA Division Public Sector Committee. He is the Independent Audit Committee Chair for the Department of Planning, Lands and Heritage and is a standing member on the Public Transport Authority Audit and Risk Committee. He is also the Chair of the Main Roads Budget Committee and Information and Communications Technology Governance Committee.

Phil DSouza

Les Marchant

Acting Executive Director Planning and Technical Services


Les brings extensive experience in materials engineering, road construction and maintenance to his leadership role in Planning and Technical Services. He is far-sighted on sustainability and industry matters and practices. His responsibilities include overseeing Main Roads’ road planning and project development activities, environmental services, spatial data management, as well as the organisation’s technical standards in road engineering, road safety, structures, and geotechnical and pavement engineering.

Les Marchant

Tony Earl

Executive Director Network Operations

Traffic Engineer

Tony is responsible for leading the team, based at our Road Network Operations Centre, to optimise performance of the state road network. This involves facilitating safe and reliable movement of people and goods, with a focus on reducing delays and the cost of congestion in the metropolitan area. He has extensive knowledge and international experience in establishing the operational strategy and building the capability to deliver road network performance improvements.

Tony Earl

Neville Willey

Acting Executive Director Human Resources

PostGradCertBus, ProfDipHRM

Neville leads Main Roads’ Human Resources function. His focus is on capability, safety and developing a high performing culture of skilled professionals. Neville brings extensive experience in the areas of human resource management, workforce planning and employee relations.

Neville Willey

Alan Colegate

Acting Executive Director Strategy and Communications

DipAcc, GBC

Alan is responsible for corporate strategic planning and policy and the provision of timely, accurate and customer-centred communications. He represents Australia and New Zealand on the PIARC (Permanent International Association of Road Congresses) Technical Committee on Performance of Road and Transport Administrations. He has recently been elected as Chair of the Board of Australasian Reporting Awards Ltd and continues in his role as a Divisional Coordinator and member of the awards committee.

Alan Colegate

John Erceg

Executive Director Central and Northern Regions


John is responsible for providing asset management, maintenance and project delivery across the Wheatbelt, Goldfields–Esperance, Mid West – Gascoyne, Pilbara and Kimberley regions. He also has state-wide responsibility for corporate asset management and regional contracting and delivery planning strategies, policies and functions. In addition to having worked throughout the state, John has held leadership positions in heavy vehicle operations, Austroads, and local and international network operations roles.

John Erceg

Leo Coci

Acting Managing Director Office of Major Transport Infrastructure Delivery

BEng(Hon), MBA

Leo brings together Major Rail and Road Projects from Main Roads and Public Transport Authority into one delivery hub where teams collaborate and share expertise to bring efficiencies to fast track priority transport and infrastructure projects. He is responsible for the procurement and delivery of high-value, complex infrastructure for some of our largest projects across Western Australia. Leo is on the Infrastructure Sustainability Council of Australia Board and is a member of the Aboriginal Advisory Group.

Leo Coci

Belinda Stopic

Acting Executive Director Infrastructure Delivery


Belinda has more than 25 years of road and bridge engineering design experience, as well as construction and project management experience and is multi-skilled across a variety of disciplines. She is responsible for the procurement and delivery of high-value, complex infrastructure for some of our largest projects across Western Australia. Her focus and expertise are on project, contract and commercial management services in the delivery of infrastructure projects.

Belinda stopic

Carmelo Naso

Chief Information Officer

BBus(InfoProc), PSM

Carmelo, as Chief Information Officer, oversees the organisations diverse technology landscape and provides leadership in ensuring it remains relevant and contemporary in an ever-changing environment. He has extensive experience and knowledge in leading and managing Information Technology and his role includes the management of both the corporate and operational systems and infrastructure.

carmelo naso

Leadership Team Changes

There were significant changes to the leadership team throughout the year as Peter Woronzow continued acting as Director General for the Transport Portfolio and as Commissioner of Main Roads.

During the financial year, Des Snook and Doug Morgan both acted in the position of Managing Director, with the latter undertaking the role since January 2021. In addition, Les Marchant has taken on, in an acting capacity, the role of Executive Director Planning and Technical Services.

Whilst Leo Coci continues to oversee and lead the Office of Major Transport Infrastructure Delivery team, Belinda Stopic is acting in the role of Executive Director Infrastructure Delivery. Leo continues to participate as an active member of the leadership team.